To Prove Myself Wrong

August 31, 2011 followingjesus4life

I always think that I’m not doing anything with my life…especially with the talents that God has given me. I mean, I’m 24, don’t have a job, living on SSI, don’t have a boyfriend, husband, or kids of my own. I don’t even have a degree from college! But, nevertheless, God has given me incredible talents that I don’t give myself credit for, and I really am doing something with my life.

I know people who are basically living in treatment. Some really need it. They are so engrossed in their eating disorder or depression that they wouldn’t be alive without this treatment. I admit…I was there once. I also know people who I believe are just in treatment because they are too afraid to be anywhere else. They can get healthy but maybe they just don’t want to. Again, I admit. I was there once.

Now, my days are filled not with hospital stays and disordered behaviors, but with life.

I’m in school. I’m active in church. I found a new “family” down in Florida who I love so much and wouldn’t know what to do had I not met them in the crazy events that led to us meeting. I’m using my love of sign language on almost a daily basis. And, most importantly, I don’t sleep 24/7 like I used to.

Here’s what my schedule basically consists of:
Sunday: My day of rest. I go to a church class at 10:15 and then attend service after that until around 12:30. Sometimes after I’ll go with Linda and her mom to eat out for lunch and sometimes we’ll just come home and relax. It’s the seventh day and I really try and give it to myself to do nothing.
Monday: Finish any and all homework I had from the previous week and even possibly get ahead on the next week’s homework. I also try and take a shower on Monday!
Tuesday: American National Government from 2:00-3:15 and then Intro to Speech from 3:30-4:45. I catch the bus right after and take it to the library in which I then have American Sign Language from 6:00-8:00. Afterwards, Linda and I go to our friend Joan’s house and we will practice ASL until around 10:00.
Wednesday: Do my homework from Tuesday and church from 7:00-9:00. Doctor’s appointments and errands are also done on Wednesdays. This is also the day I get my shower in!
Thursday: American National Government from 2:00-3:15 and Intro to Speech from 3:30-4:45. I get to take the bus straight home from there, which is an hour ride. I usually try and start some homework so that I don’t have to do any on Sunday, and so I get some free time on the weekend.
Friday: Budget my time and finish homework. I see my therapist on Friday’s when she’s available, and I always get a visit from my psychiatric team at least twice a month on a Friday for my medications. Occasionally this day will be set aside to see my psychiatrist instead.
Saturday: Sometimes, on a rare occasion, I’ll get to go to the beach. Normally, nowadays, it’s spent doing Government homework because it takes me so long to complete.
Saturday: I always shower on Saturdays! Finding time is sometimes a little difficult, so because I have Saturdays free I always shower!!! Need to stay clean!

So, basically, I’m realizing that I do really accomplish a lot more in my week than I realize. I’ve learned to take the public bus, which is either three or four different buses in one day. I spend two hours a day on a bus when I go to and from school. I’ve really learned to manage money. I’m learning sign language and am using it a LOT more. I even passed the test today to skip out of the first level. YEAH!!! I was soooo nervous about the test, but I got the word of approval today that I passed.

And now? It’s time for bed!

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

August 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts

 
